Awards to celebrate innovation in the teaching of spoken English

English Language Awards

The ESU's biennial English Language Awards help to celebrate and reward innovation and good practice in the field of English Language teaching. These awards focus on those resources which aim to improve oracy skills in the English Language, and are split into the following four categories:

- Resources for Young Learners (ages 3-11)

- Resources for Secondary to Adult Learners (ages 12 and above)

- Resources for Teachers

- The President's Award for the use of new technology in ELT

All of the awards are based on originality and substance, and winners are chosen by a panel of widely-respected experts.

We’re delighted to announce the shortlists for the 2018 awards:

How to enter

The 2018 cycle of the English Language Awards is now closed. The next cycle will take place in 2020.

The awards run biennially and are open to any organisation or individual, not just those from the English language teaching profession. Entrants should complete an online submission form after first reading the ELA Submission Guidelines in the Resources section below. You will also need to provide details of how the resource can be accessed by our panel of judges. Entry is £80 per submission.

Multiple resources will need to be submitted and paid for individually. However, should you wish to submit one resource for multiple categories, only one form and payment is required – the submission form gives the option to tick as many categories as applicable

Submissions are assessed on: oracy content; educational value; design, presentation and usability; and potential and innovation. The judging panels are comprised of experts from across the ELT field. Submissions will be assessed over the summer, with shortlists announced in October and the winners in November.

For further information, please review the Submission Guidelines below.

For any queries, please email


Please read the guidelines below for more information, before completing a submission form.

ELA submission guidelines