International Mace Final 2017 Winners Announced

Tuesday 16 May 2017

On 29 April, the ESU welcomed the school and university national debating champions from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales to Dartmouth House to compete in the International Mace Final 2017.

After a challenging Semi-Final of two debates, the school teams from England and Ireland were announced as Grand Finalists and debated the motion, ‘This House would weight votes according to age, such that the weight of your vote decreases with age’, with England on Proposition and Ireland on Opposition.

The John Smith Memorial Mace International Final also took place the same afternoon, with all four national University champions debating against each other in British Parliamentary format with the motion, ‘This House would allow people to sign legally enforceable Ulysses contracts’.

After two spirited and thought-provoking Grand Final debates, judged by a panel of five adjudicators representing all four nations, it was announced that Ireland had won the title of Schools’ Mace International Champion 2017, with Ronan and Pàdraic from St Francis College in Cork taking home the title. The team from England was announced as the John Smith Memorial Mace International Champion 2017, Louis Collier and Tek Wei Tan from the University of Oxford.

Thank you to everyone who made the International Mace Final 2017 a great event, including the judges, ESU Scotland, The Welsh Centre for International Affairs, and the UCC Philosophical Society.

For more information on our work and programmes, click here.