ESU Churchill National Public Speaking Final 2017 Winners Announced

Tuesday 25 April 2017

The public speaking year reached its climax on Saturday 23rd April with the National Final of the ESU-Churchill National Public Speaking Competition, held in the College built in his honour, Churchill College, Cambridge.

Watched over by a diverse and distinguished panel of judges - Professor James Raven, Susie Fowler-Watt and Simon Lancaster - teams from our 8 regions showed just how good the quality of our young speakers can be.

The winning team was Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Morgannwg from Barry in S. Wales, who also produced the Best Speaker, Huw Jones and Best Chair, Twm Aled. Runners-up were St Clement Dane’s School from Chorleywood, who gave us the Best Questioner, Florence McGrath and also our Outstanding Personality, Maxwell Duncan.

The teams were ably supported throughout by a team of young volunteers, all of whom had experience of this event themselves.

To find out more about the ESU Churchill Public Speaking Competition and our other programmes click here.