Pershore High School 's Success in Branch Public Speaking Competition

Monday 27 June 2016

As only five schools had entered this year's Public Speaking Competition, with Royal Grammar School Worcester sporting 2 teams, it was decided to hold the Branch Final on 20th January at Pershore High School. 

The teams entered came from Bromsgrove School, Malvern St James, Old Swinford Hospital School, Royal Grammar School Worcester (2) and Pershore High School. After a hard-fought competition the winners were Pershore High School, and the runners-up were Bromsgrove School. 

The individual winners were: 

Best Chair: Michael Hegarty from Bromsgrove School
Best Questioner: Ben Alison from Old Swinford Hospital School 
Best Speaker: Erin Young from Pershore High School Our Judges were Mary Constable, John Boardman and Val Fare and the Timekeeper was Jenny Killam. 

It was generally agreed that there was a very high standard of research, presentation and articulate speaking throughout the competition. 

 Our Chairman, Sonia Chance, presented the Worcestershire Cup to the Pershore High School Team and our Vice-Chairman, John Quibell-Smith, who master-minded both the Worcestershire Branch and the Midlands Regional Public Speaking so ably. Sonia also thanked Clive Corbett, head teacher of Pershore High School for providing such excellent hospitality and refreshments and wished his team well in the forthcoming Midland regional Final.